In this article
Use this article to understand the end user experience when DNSFilter blocks a site and the end user submits a request for access.
When a site is blocked, the block page includes an option to notify the network administrator and request access. Selecting the request link opens a request form.
The request form
The request form displays the following read-only fields that are auto-captured from the block page:
- Site
- Category
- Policy
- Blocked at
The end user enters information in the following fields:
- Your name: Optional
- Your email: Required. If the end user's identity is known from a Roaming Client, the email field is pre-filled and cannot be changed
- Why do you need access to this site?: Required. Maximum 500 characters
The end user selects Send request to submit.
✍️ Request submissions are rate limited. A maximum of 500 requests per day can be submitted per organization, and five requests per minute per user. The per-minute limit is shared across a network by client IP.
After the request is submitted
After the end user submits the request, one of the following messages displays:
| Result | Message |
|---|---|
| Request sent | "Your network administrator has been notified. They will decide whether to unblock this site — you will not get a reply from this page." |
| Duplicate | "You've already requested access to this domain. Your administrator has been notified." |
| Rate limited | "You've reached the request limit for now. Please try again later." |
✍️ Deny & Ignore decisions do not send a notification to the end user.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.